1. Types of User Permissions
There are three levels of user permissions in Kanbanize:
- Project Manager
The Administrator of the account has full privileges for all projects, boards and settings. They can add users and remove them from the account. Administrators control the user roles and the permissions in the account, the board assignees and the setting up of important functions reflecting on the whole account such as: Runtime Policies, User WIP Limits, Email Integration, Billing Information, etc. The Admin privileges override any other role in the account.
1.2 Project Manager
This is a regular user, but assigned to a board as a Project Manager.
The Project Manager automatically becomes Administrator only for the parent project.
If a user is assigned as a Project Manager for one board in the Project, he will automatically become a Project Manager for all Boards in that project.
Even if a Project Manager is assigned to another board in the project as a non-project manager, they will be automatically promoted as such. Project Managers have access to modify the settings related to the project and all the boards beneath it.
The Project Manager could also assign/remove users from the boards, but they cannot disable, enable or invite new users.
"Users" are all members of the account with non-administrative privileges. Each user can have a specific user role that allows/restricts certain actions in the system
In the User Management tab of the Administration Panel -> in the "Privileges" column, you can see the privileges of the account members (Administrators or Users) and their status (if a user is disabled).
2. How to manage user roles?
The user roles in the account are managed by Administrators from the User roles tab in the Administration Panel.
By default, there are two user roles in the system: Project Manager and Default.
The Project Manager is a built-in role and cannot be modified. As described above, the Project Managers have administrative privileges for the project to which they are assigned to.
Users with Default role have permissions and allowed actions as per Image 1 - see the checkmarks under the Card Permissions, Allowed Actions and Board Permissions headers.
2.1 Card Permissions: allow card- related actions
- Create task: The user will be allowed to create tasks
- Block task: The user will be allowed to block tasks and provide a blocking message
- Copy task: The user will be allowed to copy/clone tasks
- Archive task: The user will be allowed to move tasks to the permanent archive
- Delete task: The user will be allowed to delete tasks
- Move task: The user will be allowed to move tasks from one column/swimlane to another
- Log time: The user will be allowed to record working hours via the log time functionality
2.2 Allowed actions: This set of permissions controls which part of the cards will be visible to the user. Each of the sections corresponds to a tab in the card details. If you deselect some of the tabs, the user with this role will no longer see them. For example: if you deselect the History tab, the user will see all other tabs besides this one.
- Task details: The user will be allowed to open the task details
- Edit task details: The user will be allowed to edit all items in the task details view
- Subtasks: The user will be allowed to view the subtasks tab of the task details view - Create subtask: The user will be allowed to create subtasks
- Modify subtask: The user will be allowed to modify subtasks
- Delete subtask: The user will be allowed to delete subtasks
- Move subtask: The user will be allowed to rearrange the order of subtasks
- Comments: The user will be allowed to see the comments tab of the task details view
- Add comments: The user will be allowed to add new comments to a task
- Delete comments: The user will be allowed to delete task comments
- History: The user will be allowed to see the history tab of the task details view
- Metrics: The user will be allowed to see the metrics tab of the task details view
- Task Links: The user will be allowed to see the links tab of the task details view as well as to add/remove links between tasks
2.3 Board Permissions: these are board-level permissions that control whether the user can do any of the actions below.
- Edit workflow: The user will be allowed to change the board structure (add/remove columns or swimlanes), change the WIP limits, set column policies, etc.
- Notifications: The user will be allowed to configure and receive system and email notifications
- View archive: The user will be allowed to open the permanent archive and review the tasks which have been archived
- Move tasks from/to board: The user will be allowed to move tasks from one board to another
- Export: The user will be allowed to export tasks in CSV and XML formats from the board export tool. This permission does not control the export in XLS files which is available with the search panel.
- Analytics: The user will be allowed to open and review the charts available for each board.
- Access API: The user will be allowed to make API calls to Kanbanize.
3. How to create a new user role?
3.1 To create a new user role -> click on the Add new role button from the User Roles panel.
3.2 Fill in the name of the New Role that you want to create -> check mark the permissions you wnat ot grant as well as the actions you want to allow for the role -> click on the green check mark to save the role.
3.3 To assign the new role to some of your team members -> go to the Board Assignees tab, select a board and a user and assign the new user role.
4. How to change the permissions for the Default role?
You can change the permissions and the allowed actions for the Default role, but you cannot rename or delete the role itself. There always needs to be a default role in the account.
If you want to modify the default role, click on the role's name to open the list with its permissions -> modify the permissions and allowed actions (select/deselect).
Click on the top right green check mark to save the changes you have made for the role.