To keep your board from getting cluttered, you can move old completed tasks from the "Done" column into the "Archive" column.
There are two types of Archive: Temporary Archive and Permanent Archive. The Temporary Archive is a column on the board where you keep completed tasks for a certain period of time (e.g. one month). After that, it is recommended from functional and performance point of view to move the cards in the Permanent Archive. The items in the Permanent archive are zipped up and can be restored anytime if needed.
How to move cards to the Temporary Archieve
There are a few ways to move cards to the temporary archive.
1. Drag out a rectangle to select multiple cards and drop them to the Temporary Archive.
2. Move cards to the temporary archive from the Context menu
2.1 When you have selected the cards in the " Done" column -> open the context menu and click on Move. Choose Right and the cards will be moved to the next column after "Done" – the "Tempоrary Archive" column.
2.2 There is a short way to permanently archive cards from the "Done" column. When a card is in the Done column -> open the context menu -> select Archive ->confirm the action by clicking on Archive Cards. The card will be moved to the Permanent Archive. Using this option, you can select multiple cards and permanently archive them.
3. Move cards to the Temporary Archive from the Card Details.
Another option is to open the card details and change the card position to Archive -> Click on Update Card. The card will be moved to the Temporary Archive. This way you can only move the cards one by one.
Move Cards from the Temporary Archive to the Permanent Archive
After a certain period of time, it is recommended to move the cards from the Temporary Archive to the Permanent Archive.
Open the Temporary Archive column where the card you want to permanently archive are stored -> click on the button Permanently archive cards. You can either choose to permanently archive all cards from the Tempоrary Archive or select only certain cards to be archived. Confirm the action by clicking on Archive Cards.
Create a Version of your archived cards
The system allows you to group together the cards you want to archive and save them together under a Category name -> Create a version. For example: you can archive as a category all cards related to Project A - create a version and name it Project A. You can archive all cards for a certain period of time (e.g. one month- tasks from April) to create a better order of your archive.
To see the cards that you have archived and/or the versions that have been created -> open the Show Permanent Archive.
This Panel has two main tabs: Permanent Cards archive and Browse versions.
The Permanent Cards archive tab provides a list of all archived tasks. It allows you to define the range of time for which you want to see the archived cards.
The Browse Version tab provides a list of all archived tasks in groups. Click on the plus icon to see all cards that belong to a certain category name.
Using the Unarchive card button to the right of the card, you can unarchive a given card and bring it back to the "Temporary Archive" column.